ü  The Official languages are mentioned in the 8th Schedule of the Constitution.

ü  The official language is mentioned in the part XVII of the Indian Constitution.

ü  The original Constitution mentioned 14 languages as the official languages.

ü  This is covered in the articles from 343 to 351.

ü  Hindi is the official language of the Union.

ü  The English language was permitted for not more than a period of 15 years from the date of commencement of the Constitution for all the official purposes of the Union.

ü  OFFICIAL LANGUAGE ACT, 1963: The English language was continued as the official language along with Hindi by enacting Official Language Act, 1963.  

ü  ARTICLE 343: The official language of the Union shall be Hindi in Devanagari script.

ü  The Official Language Commission is appointed by the President.

ü  The first Official Language Commission was appointed in the year 1955.

ü  B G Kher was the chairman of the first Official Language Commission.

ü  Every bill that is introduced in the Parliament is also accompanied by a Hindi translation.

ü  The language that is used in SUPREME COURT is English only.

ü  The state legislatures were permitted to adopt any one or more than one languages.

ü  NOTE: A state can adopt more than one language.

ü  The Parliament can provide that all the proceedings in Supreme Court and High Courts are to be in English.

ü  The Governor with the prior consent of the President can authorize the use of Hindi or any other language of the state in the proceedings of the concerned High Court.

ü  All bills, acts, ordinances, orders, rules, regulations and Bye-laws at the central and states to be in English.

ü  The state legislature can prescribe the use of any language other than English with respect to bills, acts, ordinances, orders, rules, regulations, or bye-laws, but a translation of the same in the English language is to be published.

ü  An aggrieved person who belongs to the linguistic minorities has the right to submit a representation in any language used in the Union or states for the redress of grievances to any authority under the central or state government.

ü  Every state should provide adequate facilities for instruction in the mother tongue at the primary stage of education.

ü  The President should appoint a special officer for linguistic minorities to investigate all matters relating to the constitutional safeguards for linguistic minorities and to report to him.

ü  These reports are placed in front of the Parliament and sent to the concerned state governments.


ü  In the original constitution only 14 languages were mentioned.

ü  At present the number of languages mentioned in the 8th schedule is 22.

ü  Sindhi was the 15th language added through 21st amendment in the year 1971.

ü  Konakani, Nepali and Manipuri languages were added through the 71st amendment in the year 1992.

ü  The next 4 languages that added to the 8th schedule were Bodo, Dogri, Maitihli and Santhali.

ü  The last four languages were added through 100th amendment.


ü  Assamese

ü  Bengali

ü  Bodo

ü  Dogri

ü  Gujarati

ü  Hindi

ü  Kannada

ü  Kashmiri

ü  Konkani

ü  Maithili

ü  Malayalam

ü  Manipuri

ü  Marathi

ü  Nepali

ü  Oriya

ü  Punjabi

ü  Sanskrit

ü  Santhali

ü  Sindhi

ü  Tamil

ü  Telugu

ü  Urdu


In the year 2010 the Gujarat High Court observed that though the majority of the people in India have accepted Hindi as a national language there was nothing on record to suggest that any provision has been made or order issued declaring Hindi as a national language of the country.