ü  India is located on the North of the equator. (Do you remember? we learnt about Hemispheres while reading World Geography?).

ü  Hence Indian is in the northern hemisphere.

ü  India is lying between 804' N and 370 18' N latitude and 6807' E and 970 25'E longitude

ü  The country is divided into almost equal parts by the Tropic of Cancer (230 30'N).

ü  India also belongs to eastern hemisphere as it lies to the east of the Prime Meridian.

ü  The 820 30' E longitudes are taken as the Standard Time Meridian of India.

ü  India is the seventh largest country in the world occupying 2.2 per cent of the world area.


ü      Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh are in the Himalayan Region. The state of Uttarakhand lies partly in the Himalayas and partly in the northern plains.

ü      Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Maharashtra, Orissa, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala and Tamil Nadu together make the great peninsular plateau.

ü      Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Tripural and Meghalaya are the Indian provinces made up of hills in the north - east India.

ü      Gujarat, Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, Orissa and West Bengal are states on the coast of India. Among our Union Territories, Daman and Pondicherry boundaries have sea boundaries.

ü      The Indian states on international  boundaries (other country/countries within brackets) are : Gujarat (Pakistan), Rajasthan (Pakistan), Punjab (Pakistan), Jammu and Kashmir  (China and Pakistan), Himachal Pradesh (China), Bihar (Nepal), Uttaranchal (China and Nepal), Uttar Pradesh (Nepal), West  Bengal (Bhutan and Bangladesh), Sikkim (China, Bhutan and Nepal), Arunachal Pradesh (Bhutan, China and Myanmar), Nagaland  (Myanmar), Manipur (Myanmar), Mizoram (Bangladesh and Myanmar), Meghalaya (Bangladesh), Tripura (Bangladesh), and Assam  (Bhutan, Bangladesh and Myanmar).

ü      The states of Haryana, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Jharkhand are the only land – locked states. They are not on an international border either.


ü  The India is bounded in three directions by

ü  The Arabian Sea on the West

ü  The Indian Ocean on the South

ü  The Bay of Bengal on the East

ü  In the North and east India is bounded by the the mighty Himalayas and its offshoots form the international boundary of the country.

ü  India shares its land frontiers with many countries such as

v Pakistan

v Afghanistan

v China

v Nepal

v Bhutan

v Myanmar

v Bangladesh.

ü  The nearest neighbour of India across the sea is Sri Lanka.

ü  The Sri Lanka and India are separated by the narrow Palk Strait.

ü  Maldives Island is another neighbour situated to the south of Lakshadweep islands.

ü  Myanmar is India’s immediate neighbour across the Purvanchal Hills and the Bay of Bengal. Other neighbours on these frontiers include Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand, Laos and Vietnam. To the west are Pakistan, Afghanistan, Iran, Iraq and the Arabian countries.

ü  Egypt, Sudan, Ethiopia, Somalia, Kenya and Tanzania are our neighbours across the ocean.

ü  Five countries of Asia – China, Tajikistan, Afghanistan, Pakistan and India - meet at the apex of the North Indian Triangle.

ü  At the easternmost point of the Indian border is the north eastern tri–junction, where India, China and Myanmar meet.