ü Annie Besant was the first woman President of INC in 1917 during Calcutta session.

ü Sarojini Naidu was the first Indian woman President of INC in 1925 during Kanpur session.

ü Mahatma Gandhi was the President of INC only once in the year 1924 during Belgaum session.

ü In 1901 Kadambini Ganguly became the first woman to address INC during Calcutta session. 

ü INC was founded by A O Hume in Bombay in the year 1885. WC Bennerjee was the first President of INC.

ü Bengal was divided in the year 1905 and reunited in the year 1911.

ü Theosophical society was founded in New York in the year 1975 by Madam Elena Blavatsky. Later it is moved to Adyar (Chennai).

ü Vijaya lakshmi Pandit was the first Indian elected as the President of the 8th United Nations General Assembly in 1953. 

ü Vijaya Lakshmi Pandit was the first woman cabinet Minister in India. She was the Minister for Local self Government and Health in the congress ministry of UP from 1937 to 1939. She was the first Indian woman ambassador to erstwhile USSR from 1947 to 1949.

ü First woman Governor in India Sarojini Naidu for the state of UP in the year 1949.

ü First woman CM in India Sucheta Kripalani for the state of Uttar Pradesh (1963 – 1967).

ü Rajkumari Amrit Kaur was the first woman Cabinet Minister in India up to the year 1957. She held the Ministry of Health portfolio.

ü Leila Seth-1st woman Chief Justice of High Court(HP).

ü Lord Canning was the Governor-General of India when 1857 revolt broke out.

ü Lord Canning was the last Governor-General and the first Viceroy of India.

ü  Doctrine of Lapse was introduced by Lord Dalhousie. Satara (Maharashtra) was the 1st to be annexed in the year 1848.

ü  Portugal was the first country to establish trade relations with India.

ü Lord Macaulay introduced English education in India. 

ü Sir Clement Atlee was the PM of England when India got the independence.

ü Mount Batten Plan or June 3rd plan is envisaged the partition of India into India and Pakistan.

ü Lord Mountbatten was appointed as the 1st Governor-General of free India.


ü First Indian Governor-General was C. Rajagopala Chari. 

ü Mohammad Ali Jinnah was the 1st Governor-General of Pakistan.

ü Dadabhai Naoroji (Grand Old Man of India) was the first Indian to be elected to the British House of commons in the year 1892.

ü Fourth estate refers to “Press”. The term was first used by Thomas Macaulay in 1828.

ü Labour party was in power in England when India got independence.

ü Lord Curzon was the viceroy of India when Bengal was partitioned in the year 1905.

ü Red Shirts or Khudai Khidmmatgar movement was led by Khan Abdul Gaffer Khan. Also called Frontier Gandhi.

ü  Hunter commission was appointed to look into the tragedy of Jallianwala Bagh of 1919.

ü In the year 1907 INC split into moderates and extremists. This is popularly called Surat Split.

ü Rashbehari Ghosh was the president of INC in 1907.

ü  Servant’s of India society was launched by Gopala Krishna Gokale in the year 1905.

ü  During Tripuri session (1939) S C Bose defeated Pattabhi sitaramaiah (Gandhi’s nominee). Abdul Kalam Azad withdrew nomination.

ü Direct action was launched by Muslim league in the year 1946 to achieve Pakistan. Hindu-Muslim riots took place in Calcutta.

ü In Carnatic region French and British East India Company clashed for the first time.

ü  Vinobha Bhave was the first person to start individual Satyagraha in the year 1940. Jawaharlal Nehru was the second to launch the same.

ü Lord Harding II was the viceroy of India when Bengal was reunited in the year 1911. Same year capital was shifted from Calcutta to Delhi.

ü Lord Wellesley established Fort William College in Calcutta in 1800.

ü  Fort St.George is Madras was set up in Madras in 1812 by east India Company.


ü Peshwa – Pune
ü Gaikwads – Baroda
ü Bhonsle – Nagpur
ü Holkars – Indore
ü Sindhias – Gwalior.

ü When Aurobindo was arrested in the year 1908 by the British for being the prime suspect in bomb outrage, C R Das fought his case and Aurobindo was acquitted

ü The Tomaras built the city of Dhillika (Delhi) in 736.

ü Alberuni (writer and scientist) and Firdausi (Poet) were present in the court of Ghazani.

ü In the first battle of Tarai (1191) prithvi raj chauhan defeated Mohammad Ghori.

ü In the second battle of Tarai (1192) Mahmud ghori defeated Prithvi raj chauhan.

ü Qutub-ud-din Aibak was the first independent Muslim ruler of India.

ü Aibak died while playing Chowgan. (Persian game, this is Polo).


ü Babur defeated Ibrahim Lodi in first battle of Panipat in the year 1526. This is the beginning Mughal Empire

ü Sadasiva raya was the last ruler of the Vijaya Nagara dynasty. During his time vijayanagara kingdom was ruined and destroyed by Muslim rulers in the battle of tallikota or Rakshasa tangadi or Bannihatti in 1565.

ü At the second battle of Panipat (1556) Hemu was defeated by Akbar.

ü The last Mughal ruler was Bahadur shah. (1857).

ü During the time of Ahmad Delhi was attacked by Ahmad shah Abdali in third battle of Panipat in the year 1761.

ü The Battle of Buxar was fought in October 1764 between the forces under the command of the British East India Company, and the combined armies of Mir Kasim (the Nawab of Bengal), Shuja-ud-Daula (the Nawab of Awadh) and Shah Alam II, the Mughal Emperor.

ü William Hawkins visited the court of Jahangir in 1609.

ü Sir Thomas Roe visited in 1617 and got the permission to set up a factory at Surat.

ü Subahsh Chandra Bose was re elected as the President of congress in 1939 and defeated Pattabhi Sitaramaiah who was supported by Mahatma Gandhi and Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel. Maulana Abdul Kalam withdrew his nomination.

ü 1939 tripuri congress session Bose defeated Pattabhi sitaramaiah who was supported by Gandhi.

ü Mahatma Gandhi was the President of INC in the year 1924 during Belgaum session.

ü Gandhi called Tilak "The Maker of Modern India

ü Gopala Krishna Gokale was the mentor for both Gandhi and Jinnah.

ü Gandhi Sequence: Champaran (1917), Kheda (1918), Ahmadabad (1918)

ü By August 15 the rulers of all 552 states with an exception of Junagarh, Kashmir and Hyderabad had signed the instrument of accession.

ü Portuguese were the first to come to India and followed by Dutch, English and French.

ü In 1893 Mahatma Gandhi was thrown out of a train in Pietermaritzburg in South Africa. With this Gandhi launched his first Satyagraha.

ü The Vijayanagara emperor, Sri Krishnadevaraya (1509 – 1529) had won all the wars he waged over a span of 11 years against his enemies.

ü The Nalanda University was started during Gupta period (5 BC).

ü The original site is located at Rajgir, Bihar.

ü The Nalanda University was ransacked and destroyed by Turkish Muslim invaders under Bakhtiyar Khalji in 1193.

ü NOTE: The Parliament has approved the Nalanda University Bill 2010 and the Nalanda University will be set up at an approximate cost of 1005 crore.

ü The Gateway of India (Mumbai) was built 100 years ago to commemorate the visit of King George V and Queen Mary prior to the Delhi Durbar.

ü The foundation stone for Gate Way of India was laid down in March 1911 by the Governor of Bombay, Sir George Sydenham Clarke.

ü The Gate way was officially opened on December 4, 1924 by the Viceroy the Earl of Reading.

ü The MRC (Madras Regiment Centre) is the oldest regiment in Indian Army. It was raised on December 4, 1758 at Chennapatnam (Chennai). The MRC was raised when 2 battalions were raised under Colonel Robert Clive consequent to the siege of Fort St. George by the French. Madras troops fought in the battle of seringapatnam and battle of Assaye under Arthur Wellington.

ü The MRC is the only regime that was not bifurcated after Indian attaining the independence.

ü Mahatma Gandhi performed his LAST HUNGER STRIKE on January 12, 1948 for the integrity of Hindus and Muslims.