ü This was built by the British Architect Edwin Landseer Lutyens.

ü He mixed the Indian, Mughal and European styles of architecture.

ü The construction was started in the year 1912 and completed in the year 1929 and in 1931 the Viceroy of India Lord Irwin was the first occupant.

ü Initially it was called viceroy’s House.

ü In the year 1950 the name was changed to ‘Rashtrapathi Bhavan’.

ü MARBLE HALL: the portraits and sculptures of various kings, queens, viceroys, governor generals and other important personalities are displayed.

ü DURBAR HALL: Also known as Throne room. National Awards ceremony takes place here.

ü BALL ROOM: Now it is called Asoka room. Defense gallantry awards ceremony takes place here.

ü BANQUET HALL: The portraits of all the Presidents of India are placed here.

ü MUGHAL GARDENS: This is 13 acre garden built in 3 levels. In these lawns the President hosts the ‘At Home’ on the Indian Republic day and Independence Day.

ü CHILDREN’S MUSEUM: The weighing machine gives the weight of the person on the Moon and every planet in the universe.