POLITY Bit Bank - 2


Q: Governor is a part of

1. Union legislature
2. State Legislative assembly
3. State legislative council
4. State legislature

Q: Who of the following can introduce the bill in Parliament?

1. President
2. Prime Minister
3. Cabinet Minister
4. Any member of the parliament

Q: A bill becomes an act after 

1. It is passed in Loksabha
2. It is passed in Rajya Sabha
3. It is passed in both the houses of the parliament
4. After the assent of the President

Q: The Constitution of India came into force on

1. December 9, 1946
2. August 15, 1947
3. November 26, 1949
4. January 26, 1950

Q: Joint session of the parliament is summoned by 

1. President
2. Vice President
3. Prime Minister
4. Speaker

Q: How many schedules were there in the original Constitution?

1. 6
2. 8
3. 10
4. 12

Q: Who was the interim President of the Constituent Assembly?

1. Dr. Rajendra Prasad
2. Dr. B.R. Ambedkar
3. Dr. Sachhidananda Sinha
4. Jawaharlal Nehru

Q: The most short lived of all Britain’s constitutional experiments in India was the 

1. Indian Councils act of 1861
2. Indian Councils act of 1892
3. Indian Councils act of 1909
4. Government of India act of 1919


Q: Which of the following is not a feature of the GOI act 1935?

1. Diarchy at the centre as well as at the provinces 
2. A bicameral legislature
3. Provincial autonomy
4. An all India federation


Q: Which of the following acts of British India strengthened the viceroy’s authority over his executive council by substituting “portfolio” or departmental system for corporate functioning?

1. Indian Councils Act, 1861
2. GOI Act, 1858
3. Indian Councils Act, 1891
4. Indian Councils Act, 1909

Q: Consider the following statements:

Some of the features of the GIO Act 1935 were the

a. Abolition of diarchy in the Governor’s provinces
b. Power of the Governors to veto legislative action and to legislate on their own
c. Abolition of the principle of communal representation

Which of the statements given above is/are correct?

1. A only
2. A and B
3. B and C
4. A, B and C


Q: The Montague Chelmsford reforms report formed the basis of

1. The Indian Councils Act, 1909
2. The GOI Act, 1919
3. The GOI Act, 1935
4. The Indian independence Act, 1947


Q: East India Company secured charter from Queen Elizibeth authorizing company to organize and send trading expeditions to East Indies for how many years?

1. 15
2. 25
3. 75
4. 125


Q: Which of the following statements are not true?

1. Simon commission was appointed in the year 1927
2. Out of 7 members there were 3 Indians in the commission
3. Simon commission was not welcomed because there was no Indian representation
4. It recommended for the abolition of diarchy at the central level.

Choose the right answer.

1. 1,2
2. 2,3
3. 2,4
4. 2,3,4


Q: Which of the following statements are true?

1. Communal award was declared in the year 1932
2. Ramsay Mac Donald was the British Prime minister in the year 1932
3. Communal award extended communal electorate for Muslims and women
4. Poona Pact took place in the year 1932.

Chose the correct answer from the below:

1. 1,2
2. 1, 2,3
3. 2, 3, 4
4. 1, 2, 4


Q: Which of the following statements are true regarding GOI Act, 1935?

1. Abolition of diarchy at the provinces
2. Diarchy at the centre was introduced
3. Divided powers into 3 list Federal, Provincial and concurrent lists.

Chose the answer from below:

1. A, B
2. A, C
3. B, C
4. A, B, C


Q: Which of the following statements are true?

a. First Governor-General of Bengal was Lord Warren Hastings
b. Governor-General of Bengal designated as Governor-General of India through Charter Act  of 1833.
c. First Governor-General of India was Lord William Bentick
d. Governor-General of India was designated as the Viceroy through GOI Act, 1858
e. Lord canning was the first Viceroy of India

Choose the correct answer

1. A, B, C
2. B, C, D, E
3. A, B, C, E
4. A, B, C, D, E


Q: Portfolio system in India was introduced by

1. Lord Bentick
2. Lord Minto
3. Lord Canning
4. Lord Mountbatten

Q: To which of the following categories was the communal electorate was introduced through 1909 Act?

1. Indian Christians
2. Anglo Indians
3. Muslims
4. Women and Labour

Q: Which of the following Acts provided for the establishment of Public Service commission in India?

1. Indian Councils Act, 1909
2. GOI Act, 1919
3. GOI Act, 1935
4. Indian Independence Act, 1947

Q: Which of the following Acts introduced open competition system of selection recruitment for Civil servants and also open to Indians

1. Charter Act, 1833
2. Charter Act, 1853
3. GOI Act, 1858
4. Indian Councils Act, 1861.


Q: The work of the drafting of Indian Constitution completed on

1. December 9, 1946
2. November 26, 1949
3. January 24, 1950
4. January 26, 1950

Q: The Indian parliamentary system is different from the British parliamentary system in that India has

1. Both real and nominal executives  
2. A system of collective responsibility
3. Bicameral Legislature
4. The system of judicial review

Q: The amendment of the Constitution of India can be initiated by the 

A. Loksabha
B. Rajya Sabha
C. State legislatures
D. President

Which of the following statement is/are correct?

1. A only
2. A, B, C
3. B, C, D
4. A, B

Q: Who headed the interim cabinet formed in the year 1946?

1. Rajendra Prasad
2. Jawaharlal Nehru
3. Patel
4. Rajagopalachari

Q: Which of the following bills must be passed each house of the Indian Parliament separately by special majority?

1. Ordinary bill
2. Money Bill
3. Finance Bill    
4. Constitution amendment bill

Q: Which one of the following statements is correct?

1. The constituent assembly of India was elected by the provincial Assemblies in the year 1946. 
2. Nehru, Jinnah and Patel were the members of the Constituent Assembly.
3. The first session of the constituent Assembly of India was held in January, 1950.
4. the constitution of India was adopted on January 26, 1950


Q: Who was the Chief Justice of India when Public Interest Litigation (PIL) was introduced to the Indian Judicial System?

1. M. Hidayatullah
2. A.M Ahmadi
3. A.S Anand
4. P N Bhagawati

Q: Consider the following statements:

A. The Charter Act of 1853 abolished East India Company’s  monopoly of Indian trade

B. Under the GOI Act 1858, the British Parliament abolished the East India company altogether and undertook the responsibility of ruling India directly.

Which of the following statements given above is/are correct?

1. A only
2. B only
3. A & B
4. None


Q: Which portfolio was held by Dr. Rajendra Prasad in the interim Government formed in the year 1946?

1. Defence
2. External Affairs
3. Home
4. Food and Agriculture

Q: Who among the following was the Chairman of the Union Constitution committee of the Constituent Assembly?

1. B R Ambedkar
2. J B Kripalani
3. Jawaharlal Nehru
4. Patel


Q: Untouchability is abolished and its practice in any form is forbidden. It is mentioned in which of the following Articles?

1. 14
2. 15
3. 16
4. 17