These are the fundamental points related to various subjects. I am giving this to you for quick reading. Read these points periodically. I will be updating them from time to timeKALYAN SIR

ü  Gulzarilal Nanda was the first interim Prime Minister of India after the death of the Jawaharlal Nehru (1st PM) in the year 1964. Gulazari Lal Nanda was also the interim PM after the death of Lal Bahadur Sastri in the year 1966.

ü  Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel was the first Home Minster of India. 

ü The position of Deputy Prime Minister is not mentioned in the Constitution.

ü So far India had seven Deputy Prime Ministers’ (As of November 2013).

ü  First Deputy Prime Minister of India was Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel (1947-50).  

ü Seventh and latest Deputy Prime Minister was LK Advani (2002-04).

ü Abul Kalam Azad was the first Education Minister for the independent India.


ü November 11, the birth anniversary of Maulana Abul Kalam Azad is declared as ‘National Education Day’.

ü So far National Emergency was imposed for 3 times.

ü National Emergency was imposed for the 1st time in 1962 because of war with China

ü National emergency was imposed for second time in 1971 because of war with Pakistan.

ü National emergency for third time in 1975 because of internal disturbances. 
 Note: 44th Constitutional amendment, 1978 replaced the words “Internal Disturbances” with “Armed Rebellion”.

ü During National Emergency the term of Lok Sabha and the state assemblies can be extended by not more than one year at a time.

ü In Golaknath vs. the state of Punjab (1967) case judgment was delivered by the CJI K.Subba Rao. Supreme Court said Fundamental Rights cannot be amended.

ü Keshavananda Bharati Vs state of Kerala (1973) case judgment was delivered by the CJI SM Sikri. Supreme Court said Judicial Review is a basic feature of the Constitution.


ü 86th Amendment of 2002 changed the subject matter of Article 45 and also made elementary education a fundamental right under Article 21A. (This came into effect on April 1, 2010).

ü Morarji Desai was the first non congress Prime Minister of India. He is the only Indian to receive both Bharat Ratna and Nishaan-e-Pakistan.

ü Morarji Desai is the first Indian Prime Minister to resign from the office.

ü The Lok Sabha or House of People’s Representatives elections are conducted every five years.

ü In India so far 16 times the Lok Sabha elections are conducted. 16th one is 2014.

ü In India the midterm elections were conducted for 5 times so far. (1971, 1980, 1991, 1998, 1999).

ü Morarji Desai was the first Chairman of ARC (Administrative Reforms Commission).

ü Verappa Moily was chairman of second ARC.
ü Legislative Assembly strength should not be more than 500 and not less than 60 members.


ü Legislative council strength should not be less than 40 and not more than 1/3rd of the strength of assembly.

ü The President nominates 2 Anglo-Indians to Lok sabha

ü The President nominates 12 members to Rajya Sabha. These are the persons with special knowledge or practical experience in Arts, Science, Literature and social service.

ü The Governor of a state nominates 1 Anglo-Indian to the state legislative Assembly

ü The Governor of a state nominates 1/6th members to the state legislative council.

ü Tenure of CAG is 6 years or till he attains the age of 65 years whichever is earlier.

ü  Tenure of Chairman and members of UPSC is 6 years or till he attains the age of 65 years whichever is earlier.

ü  Tenure of Chairman and members of SPSC State Public Service Commission or JPSC (Joint Public Service Commission) is 6 years or till he attains the age of 62 years whichever is earlier.

ü Article 52.  There shall be a President.

ü Article 153. There shall be a Governor for each state.

ü The President of India is elected by the elected members of

  •      Lok Sabha,
  •      Rajya Sabha
  •      State legislative Assemblies
  •    Legislative assemblies of Delhi and Pondicherry.